Key Stage 4

Year 9 is the first year at Key Stage 4. The Year 9 curriculum is broad, balanced and largely based on the National Curriculum of England, adapted to suit the needs of our international body of students. The subjects studied in Year 9 are:

  • Three core subjects - Mathematics, English and Science
  • Modern Foreign Languages
  • Computing
  • Visual Arts
  • Drama
  • Music
  • Physical Education
  • Geography
  • History

The Middle Years Programme and Year 9 curriculum lay a strong foundation for the International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) programme.

IGCSE is an established international programme, which empowers students with fundamental skills and knowledge in a wide range of subjects, instilling intellectual curiosity and promoting intercultural understanding.

Considered the world’s most popular international curriculum for 14 - 16 year olds, IGCSE provides a basis for lifelong learning and encourages independence of thought through analysis of a wide range of issues.

The programme provides excellent preparation for IBDP as well as other progression routes.

IGCSE students are expected to take nine subjects, though in special cases a student may take less or more. The wide range of subjects on offer gives students a more rounded education in addition to keeping future career choices open. Choices are made bearing in mind a breadth of disciplines, possible career choices, aptitude and enjoyment.