Key Stage 5 (IB)

The IB Diploma Programme (DP) is a rigorous, academically challenging and balanced programme of education designed to prepare students aged 16 to 19 for success at university, and life beyond. The programme aims to encourage students to be knowledgeable, inquiring, caring and compassionate, and to develop intercultural understanding, open-mindedness and the attitudes necessary to respect and evaluate a range of viewpoints.

Approaches to teaching and learning (ATL) are deliberate strategies, skills and attitudes that permeate the teaching and learning environment. Students develop skills from five ATL categories:






To ensure breadth and depth of both knowledge and understanding, students must choose six courses from six distinct groups:

  • 1. Studies in language and literature
  • 2. Language acquisition
  • 3. Individuals and societies
  • 4. Sciences
  • 5. Mathematics
  • 6. The arts

Students may choose to replace Arts with a second course from the other five.

At least three, and no more than four, subjects are taken at higher level, while the remaining are taken at standard level.

In addition, three core elements—Theory of Knowledge, Extended Essay and Creativity, Activity, Service—are compulsory and central to the philosophy of the programme.